Open Letter

To all the teachers ,

For not only teaching us the subjects but a way of life.

It has been 23 days since my last exam , the day I gave my last exam I felt something heavy . It was a day when I was supposed to feel happy and free . I din’t feel that way . I just felt like crying forever , don’t know what it was . I was not sad , but it was not a normal response .

Three years before in the same months , I was miserable . I slept at the time I was supposed to wake up , just to avoid my parents . I could not look at myself in mirror . My hair was in knots . I could see no light . Being a 9.8 GPA student in 10th grade to a 78% in 12th grade had already shattered my confidence in myself , then I failed an exam for the second time for which I had taken a year off for preparation .

I was never sure of what I wanted to do in life , but something that gives me satisfaction and something that whenever I sleep at night I am sure that I have earned it . I just found my interest in science and opted for medical . There was this race going on , as a normal response for doing what is common and normal I too followed the race and failed not once but thrice . I failed the third race but gained myself .

I was so demoralized I was unsure If I will get admission anywhere .

Fortunately I landed here and I met you .

Thanks a lot Ma’am,

For putting in so much effort for all the extra classes you could have skipped but you chose to teach us . We felt the need to work harder looking at you. Every time I looked at you I felt I could do better , that I still had something in me . You trusted us and gave us tasks . Thanks for believing in me when I had lost all hopes in myself. Thanks for all the encouragement , I felt I was capable of something. For the times when we did mistakes you patiently explained and gave us the chance to improve . For explaining us things we will never forget throughout out lives. All I want in life is a job that makes me feel satisfied at the end of the day and I see you doing that . A semester was easy when we saw you teaching . Thanks for looking at us above our marks .

Today 3 years since I met you , I can look at myself . I am confident that I will do something in life . I have found what I love . I have a GPA of 9.14 this semester and I can face my parents .

Thanks for rekindling something that was about to die .

Thanks for being the light .

I will never be able to thank you enough for how greatly you have impacted my life .

With all my happy tears THANK YOU MA’AM.

20 thoughts on “Open Letter

  1. I, too, am thankful for the dedicated teachers who changed the course of my life. As a former high school teacher, I hope that I was able to do the same for my students.

    All the best in the years ahead in whatever profession you choose.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

